866-322-0787

Meet the Team

Contact Us Directly

Our team of experts work tirelessly to help you. See a few of the faces that will help you throughout the Denial, Medical Billing or Utilization Review process.

The professionals at Denials Management have been experts in the industry for over 20 years. Our President, Mary Covington, has been an expert in the healthcare field for over 40 years. Each team member applies years of experience and knowledge into providing the highest quality of service and disputing denied insurance claims for families and their providers. Disputing a denied insurance claim is a time-sensitive matter, so please call us with any questions or information you may have!

Executive Team

Mary Covington

Mary Covington

President

Mary Covington is the President of Denials Management, Inc., a healthcare advocacy firm specializing in medical billing, mental health billing, claims and appeals. Mary’s experience in healthcare spans 45 years. She began working in the healthcare industry in 1970 and was employed with two major insurance companies through the 1980’s. Mary now works primarily with families facing challenging insurance issues related to long-term mental health claims associated with adolescent/young-adult residential and outdoor behavioral health treatment programs

Whitney Duhaime

Whitney Duhaime

Vice President

Whitney Duhaime is the Vice President of Denials Management. She graduated from Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio, Texas with an M.B.A. and a Master’s of Science in Organizational Leadership. With an extensive background in insurance claims, customer service, and managing numerous small businesses, Whitney is able to use her skills in process improvement, employee performance management, conceptualizing and executing of new projects and services to better Denials Management, Inc. as a whole.

Management Team

Candice Eldard

Candice Eldard

Health Care Advocate Manager

Candice is a responsible, loyal partner who is passionate about helping families get the coverage and benefits they are rightfully entitled to. With over 16 years of experience, she brings proficient organization, case management and productivity skills.

Erin Kotchik

Erin Kotchik

Intake Manager

Erin is passionate about utilizing the experience gained from managing residential treatment facilities to now advocating for families to receive the reimbursement they deserve from their insurance companies.

Chelsea Giles

Chelsea Giles

Appeals Manager

Chelsea holds a bachelor’s degree in social work. She has worked as an assessment coordinator in the mental health field and as a practice administrator in the private healthcare setting.

Karem Gonzalez

Karem Gonzalez

Billing & Claims Co-Manager

Karem is very passionate about the administrative side of the medical field and is honored to utilize her knowledge in Medical Billing and Coding to assist clients with the claims process.

Alexandra Culpepper

Alexandra Culpepper

Provider Relations

Alexandra enjoys and is very impassioned about the work we do here. She strives to make sure that all of our clients are treated fairly and their claims are handled accurately.

Ashlee Harper

Ashlee Harper

Utilization Review Manager

Ashlee is a Certified Social Worker and has always had a passion for working in the mental health and substance abuse field.

Carrie Sproul

Carrie Sproul

Accounts Receivable Manager

As the Accounts Receivable Manager at Denials Management, Carrie strives on playing a role in assisting our families in receiving the reimbursement they deserve for their medical and behavioral health services.

Latonya Hadley

Latonya Hadley

Human Resources

Latonya Hadley is a Human Resource Director at Denials Management. She is passionate about helping people and loves working in human resources. Latonya holds her Bachelor’s degree in Human Services.

Paul Baird

Paul Baird

Administrative Manager

Paul has been with DMI for three years and has worked his way up to managing our administration team.  Outside the office, Paul is an artist and writer working in a variety of mediums and forms.

Kelly Dees

Kelly Dees

Accountant

Kelly has 13+ years of Accounting experience and takes great pride in managing the finances for Denials Management, Inc.

Executive Team

Mary Covington

President

Please Reach out to Mary’s Executive Assistant Natalie Jackson

Natalie Jackson

Executive Assistant

After 12 years of in the criminal defense industry, Natalie joined DMI to continue the fight for people’s rights. A ray of sunshine at work, Natalie enjoys gardening, shooting, and watching football in her free time.

Extension
210
Email
natalie.jackson@denialsmgt.com

 

Whitney Duhaime

Vice President

Please Reach out to Whitney’s Executive Assistant Erin O’Reilly

Erin O'Reilly

Executive Assistant

Extension
124
Email
erin.oreilly@denialsmgt.com

Human Resources

Latonya Hadley

Human Resources

Extension
160

Email
latonya.hadley@denialsmgt.com

Health Care Advocate Team

Candice Eldard

Health Care Advocate Manager

Extension
227

Email
candice.eldard@denialsmgt.com

Alexis Flowers

Health Care Advocate Assistant Manager

Alexis has been working in the Health Insurance industry for over 8 years. She is passionate about advocating for families in obtaining the coverage they are owed by their insurance companies.

Extension
275

Email
alexis.flowers@denialsmgt.com

 

Tyson Carbaugh-Mason

Post Appeals Coordinator

Tyson is a University of Utah Graduate and engages in many volunteer actives, including fundraising for the Utah AIDS Foundation, serving on the SLC Police Civilian Review Board, and working for Utahan’s Against Hunger.

Extension
171

Email
tyson.cm@denialsmgt.com

Gregory Allenbach

Health Care Advocate

Gregory has had a long and varied career in advocacy that has included his work with numerous children’s hospitals across the country, Ronald McDonald House Charities, victim’s and women’s rights groups, and low income housing. He leverages this history to help mental health and substance abuse patients at DMI.

Extension
220

Email
gregory.allenbach@denialsmgt.com

Kristine Coleman

Health Care Advocate

A Hiker and avid dog lover, Kristin has a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology with a minor in Psychology, with additional certifications in Criminology. Her range of compassion and self-motivation extends past her work at DMI.

Extension
242

Email
kristine.coleman@denialsmgt.com

Jodi Cooper

Healthcare Advocate

Jodi has been an advocate of mental health for years and is dedicated to destroying the stigma that surrounds the field. Jodi gathers strength from her two loving boys and models parts of her personality from her dedicated mother.                

Extension
257

Email
jodi.cooper@denialsmgt.com

Lizzy Donnelly

Health Care Advocate

Lizzy graduated from Westminster College with a Bachelor’s degree in Public Health. She is dedicated to holding insurance companies accountable and increasing access to healthcare for at-risk patients.

Extension
253

Email
elizabeth.donnelly@denialsmgt.com

Kortni Hibshman

Health Care Advocate

Extension
229

Email
kortni.hibshman@denialsmgt.com

Tonya Bentley

Health Care Advocate

Extension
273

Email
tonya.bentley@denialsmgt.com

Kwadrea Harris

Health Care Advocate

Extension
258

Email
kwadrea.harris@denialsmgt.com

Kaley McCaslin

Health Care Advocate

Extension
221

Email
kaley.mccaslin@denialsmgt.com

Kortnie Wilson

Health Care Advocate

Extension
230

Email
kortnie.wilson@denialsmgt.com

Maryeah Watson

Health Care Advocate

Extension
231

Email
maryeah.watson@denialsmgt.com

Intake Team

Erin Kotchik

Intake Manager

Extension
256

Email
erin.kotchik@denialsmgt.com

Laurie Shepherd

New Client Intake Coordinator

Laurie Sheperd is DMI’s first New Client Intake Coordinator. From her time working real estate to medical research, Laurie brings a certain energy that can only be described as ferocious.

Extension
218

Email
laurie.shepherd@denialsmgt.com

London Boyland

Intake Coordinator

Currently pursuing an associates in general education while holding a certificate in medical administration, nothing can quench London’s thirst for knowledge. When London isn’t consuming information, she shows her creativity through Painting and Nail Art.

Extension
260

Email
london.boyland@denialsmgt.com

Shandi Poulsen

Intake Coordinator

Shandi’s has a pep in her step that comes from years of dancing Ballet and hip-hop. She’s gone from poking patients as a phlebotomy technician to advocating for patient’s insurance rights, and is now working towards a Nursing degree.

Extension
262

Email
shandi.poulsen@denialsmgt.com

London Riding

Intake Coordinator

An endurance runner, mother of three, and compassionate advocate, London encompasses many of DMI’s core values. She currently holds a degree in Medical Administration and is pursuing a degree as a Surgical Nurse Practitioner.

Extension
240

Email
london.riding@denialsmgt.com

Jennifer Schlier

Intake Coordinator

Extension
264

Email
jennifer.schlier@denialsmgt.com

Appeals Team

Chelsea Giles

Appeals Manager

Extension
400

Email
chelsea.giles@denialsmgt.com

Justin Eckman

Appeals Assistant Manager

Extension
246

Email
justin.eckman@denialsmgt.com

Whitney Applegate

Appeals Writer

Extension
414

Email
whitney.applegate@denialsmgt.com

Kaylee DeWitt

Appeals Writer

Extension
416

Email
kaylee.dewitt@denialsmgt.com

Bailee Morgan

Appeals Writer

Extension
412

Email
bailee.morgan@denialsmgt.com

Kayaunna Swartzmiller

Appeals Writer

Extension
403

Email
kayaunna.swartzmiller@denialsmgt.com

Brittany Ricks

Appeals Writer

Brittany’s meticulous personality allowed her to graduate with honors from BYU with a double major in Philosophy and Political Science, and a minor in Logic. Brittany leverages her skills for logical argumentation to write compelling appeal letters.

Extension
409

Email
brittany.ricks@denialsmgt.com

Billing & Claims Team

Karem Gonzalez

Claims Manager

Extension
320

Email
karem.gonzalez@denialsmgt.com

Theresa Miller

Billing & Claims Specialist

Extension
328

Email
theresa.miller@denialsmgt.com

Alexandra Boog

Billing & Claims Specialist

Extension
325

Email
alexandra.boog@denialsmgt.com

Utilization Review Team

Ashlee Harper

Utilization Review Manager

Extension
236

Email
ashlee.harper@denialsmgt.com

Sara Remaley

Utilization Review

Dually licensed as mental health and addiction specialist, Sara is driven to help families obtain the care they deserve. Sara’s extreme motivation makes her an irreplaceable asset at DMI and has led to her presenting at national consortiums to other mental health professionals.

Email
sara.remaley@denialsmgt.com

Accounts Receivable Team 

Carrie Sproul

Accounts Receivable Manager

Extension
241

Email
carrie.sproul@denialsmgt.com

Adrianne Jensen

Accounts Receivable

Born and raised in Utah, Adrianne has a wealth of knowledge in contracting and accounting. When she isn’t crunching numbers, Adrianne enjoys doing anything outdoors with her family.

Extension
233

Email
adrianne.jensen@denialsmgt.com

Melissa Passey

Accounts Receivable

A woman of many talents, Melissa started at DMI as an Intake counselor. When she isn’t using her extensive Accounts Receivable knowledge Melissa enjoys spending time with her family and working as a Lash Artist.

Extension
277

Email
melissa.passey@denialsmgt.com

Here’s what some of our clients have said

Christy

  Thank you for your hard work. It’s so crazy what insurance companies make people do to get covered. Good luck on Monday.

8/11/18

Carey B.

 Hi Braden,
I reviewed the Open Sky appeal letter. It is absolutely excellent and I am very impressed at how thorough it is. I look forward to the response from Beacon Health.
I just faxed you the signature page.
Thanks-

8/28/18

Mathiesen

 We have reviewed this appeal. I really appreciate the thorough and detailed arguments backed up with substantial and spot on evidence. It’s amazing to me. Thank you. 

07/16/18

Josie B.

  Dear all-
This letter is great! So complete and accurate. I appreciate your effort.
Please sign the letter on my behalf.
Thanks you, 

7/19/18